The Comoros geography and culture

The Comoros is composed of four main islands in its volcanic archipelago.
Those 4 islands are:

  • Ngazidja,
  • Mwali,
  • Nzwani,
  • and MahorŠ¹,

There are also many smaller islands.

It is noted for its diverse culture, history and civilizations.

The three official languages of the land are Comorian (Shikomor), Arabic and French.

The first settlers to ever reach the land are the Swahilis. They came to The Comoros as a part of the greater Bantu expansion which took place in Africa throughout the first millennium. The island became populated by the coming of diverse groups from the coast of Africa.

Leave a Comment

XHTML: You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>